Automate your Android phone

Ever wanted to automate your Android phone to remove often used sequense of steps? It is possible – with Android, not iPhone. I call it scripted intelligence.

Now you probably wonder what ”often used sequense of steps” could he possibly mean?
Imagine this:

  • you are about to drive your car to work and you put your phone in the car mount and plug in the charger. Then you activate bluetooth, open spotify and your favourite navigator app. Wouldn’t you like this to be automated?
  • you come to work and turn wifi on. Then you mute your phone so incoming calls will not ring and disturbe your colleagues. You do that every day. How about having this automated?

The solution to automation is called Tasker. It is an app you download and by activating different scripts you can automated your phone into almost doing everything you want. The tricky thing however is to come up with the scripts. That is were your intelligence comes into play. Fortunately for you there are loads of scripts just a google away…

I have added the ones I’m using below so you can get an overview on how it works. There are plenty of variables and options and it might look overwhelming at first. But don’t let it bring you down. You will get a hang of it. The automation options are almost endless…
TaskerTasker comes with a price but I can ensure you it is well spent money. There are of course similar apps available of which some are free. I have tried a few of them but they are not on the same premium level as Tasker.

So why only on Android phones? The simple reason why Tasker is a great tool for Andriod phones and doesn’t exist for Iphone is due to the fact that Apple protects the core of the Operative System (OS). This means that apps cannot reach certain functions of the OS to create functional automation. Good or bad is up to you but if you ask me (user of both Andriod and IOS devices) I really would appreciate if Apple would relax the OS protection a bit.

Script examples

Muting your phone

Everytime I come into the office I’d like to mute my Samsung automatically and every time I leave the office I’d like it to unmute. Easiest is to find an event that is always related to work. Could be proximity using the GPS or ,in my case, when I connect to our wifi.

Profile: When Connected to ”work wifi” (Wifi Connected Event) -> Vibrate in Office (Task)
Wifi Connected Event: SSID: vzinet

Task: Silent Mode: Vibrate

Low battery SMS

Since I’m using my private Iphone as my primary phone/Smart device I want to get notified when my Samsung gets low on battery. When my Samsung reaches 10% battery and SMS is sent to a pre-determined phone number.

Profile: Battery Level 0, 10 (State Event)   -> Send SMS (Task)
Battery State Event: From 0 To 10.

Task: Send SMS: +xx xxxxxxxxx (input your phone number)

Missed Call SMS

Since I’m using my private Iphone as my primary phone/Smart device I want to get notified when I miss a phone call on my Samsung.

Profile: Missed Call C:Any (Missed Call Event)   -> SMS When Missed Call (Task)
Missed Call Event: Caller C:Any.
Task:
  1. Variable Add: %MissedCalls, 1 (increases the variable with 1)
  2. If %MissedCalls > 1 Then (first missed call will not send an SMS since variable is 1)
  3. Send SMS: +xx xxxxxxxxx (input your phone number)
  4. Variable Set: %MissedCalls, 0 (resets the variable)
  5. 5: End If

Recieved SMS

Since I’m using my private Iphone as my primary phone/Smart device I want to get notified when I get a text message on my Samsung.

Profile: Recieved Text SMS C:Any (Recieved Text Event)   -> Send SMS When Recieving SMS (Task)

Recieved Text Event: Type: SMS, Sender: C:Any.

Task:

  1. Variable Add: %RecievedSMS, 1 (increases the variable with 1)
  2. If %RecievedSMS > 0 Then
  3. Send SMS: +xx xxxxxxxxx (input your phone number)
  4. Variable Set: %RecievedSMS, 0 (resets the variable)5: End If

Possible other scripts

Car mounted

If you want to have Spotify open and your favourite nav app (maybe Waze) when car mounted you think like this:

  1. Use an event to indicate phone orientation is ”Up” (like mounted in the car)
  2. Use and event to indicate power is plugged in
  3. Use action to open Spotify
  4. Use action to open Waze

When the conditions are not met the profile simply don’t run or are not active anymore (goes back to previous state).

/Parkley

Kommentera

